Email not displaying correctly? View it in your browser.

Opening Speaker

Prof. R.J Zvobgo

Keynote Speaker

Prof. Emmanuel Nnadozie

Distinguished Speaker

Dr. Kupukile Mlambo



Theme: Applied Research in Accounting, Finance,
Insurance and Economics on Africa

17 - 18 May 2017

Venue: Elephant Hills Resort, Victoria Falls, Zimbabwe

The African Finance Association in partnership with Great Zimbabwe University and several academic and research institutions, will be hosting the 14th African Finance Journal Conference in Victoria Falls, Zimbabwe. We wish to take this opportunity to invite you to submit an abstract or paper for presentations at the conference. The emphasis of the conference will be on high-quality, theoretical and/or applied research focusing on issues relevant to emerging trends in accounting, finance and economics which have special relevance to Africa’s development. The conference will focus (not exclusively) on the following:

  • Emerging Stock Markets Research
  • Microfinance
  • Emerging Corporate Finance
  • Commodities Markets Research
  • Emerging Bond Markets Research
  • Trade Finance
  • Environmental Finance
  • Responsible Investment
  • Development Accounting
  • Development Economics
  • Agricultural Finance
  • Capital Adequacy & Planning: Exploring the future for capital in the banking sector
  • Export Finance
  • Insurance Finance in Africa
  • Emerging Banking Research;
  • Corporate Governance
  • Regulatory Issues in Africa;
  • SME Finance;
  • Issues on the Basel Accord;
  • FDI and Portfolio Investment in Africa;
  • Financial Risk Management in Emerging Markets;
  • Other areas of Development Finance and Economics
  • Islamic Finance
  • Financial Inclusion
  • Credit Risk Analysis
  • Retail banking in Africa
  • Growth of mobile banking in Africa
  • Corporate Finance and Investments
Scientific Committee
  • Prof. Kalu Ojah (Wits)
  • Dr. Mills Soko (Univ. of Cape Town)
  • Prof. Charles Adjasi (University of     Stellenbosch)
  • Prof.  Kwaku Opong (University of Glasgow)
  • Dr. O.O Othata (University of Bostwana)
  • Prof. Smile Dube (California State University, Sacramento)
  • Prof Eskandar Tooma (The American University in Cairo)
  • Dr. Kenneth Mwenda, (World Bank)
  • Dr. Rose Ngugi (University of Nairobi)
  • Prof. Joel Eita (North-West University)
  • Dr. Esman Nyamongo (Central Bank of Kenya)
  • Dr. Maureen Were (Central Bank of Kenya)
  • Dr. Adeleke Salami (African Development Bank)
  • Dr. Frances Obafemi (University of Calabar, Nigeria)
  • Dr. Michael Olagunju (Obafemi Awolowo University, Nigeria)
  • Prof. Nicholas Biekpe (University of Cape Town & Africagrowth Institute)
  • Prof. Nicholas Odhiambo  (UNISA)
  • Prof. Joshua Abor (University of Ghana)
  • Prof. Matthew Ocran (Nelson Mandela Metropolitan University)
  • Dr. John Mutenyo (Brookings Institute, USA)
  • Prof Sheriffdeen Tella (Olabisi Onabanjo University)
  • Prof Franklin Michello (Middle Tennessee State University)
  • Dr. Lucas Njoroge (Central Bank of Kenya)
  • Dr. Roseline Misati (Central Bank of Kenya)
  • Dr. Moses Sichei (Central Bank of Kenya)
  • Dr. Anne Kamau (Central Bank of Kenya)
  • Dr. Moses Kiptui (KSMS Research Centre, Kenya)
  • Prof. Heinz Klingelhofer (Tshwane University of Technology)
  • Dr. Sephooko Motelle (Central Bank of Lesotho)
  • Dr. Michael Adebiyi (Central Bank of Nigeria)
  • Dr. Zwelakhe Tshandu (Development Bank of Southern Africa)
  • Dr. Anthony Coleman (Afreximbank)

The African Finance Association is affiliated to a number of flagship publications including African Finance Journal, Review of Development Finance, Africagrowth Agenda and Development Finance Agenda. The African Finance Journal, is IBSS, Scopus, and Econlit listed and accredited by the South African governments and Department of Education for subsidy purpose. Review fof Development Finance is both Scopus, CABS and IBSS listed and Africagrowth Agenda is IBSS listed.

After the conference, authors are encouraged to submit their work to be considered for publication in the African Finance Journal. Certificate of participation will be issued to all authors. In addition to this, all abstracts will be published as conference proceedings on our website. Summaries of research (without equations) can also be submitted to the Africagrowth Agenda (it is IBSS listed).


Submission of abstracts - 28 February 2017
Submission of full papers - 31 March 2017
Payment of registration fee - 30 April 2017



Registration Fee
(Including Sunset Cruise)
Doctoral Student US$ 400
Other Academic US$ 500
Non-Academic Professionals US$ 550


The Conference organizing committee includes: Professor Nicholas Biekpe (Conference Chair), Dina Potgieter (Executive Manager)

All scientific questions to be addressed to Professor Biekpe:
Abstract, paper submission and all other questions: Lydia le Roux:


Registration Form

Information for Participants

Supported by:


Our website:

Our telephone:
+27 21 914 6778/6769

Copyright (C) 2004-2017. AFRICAGROWTH INSTITUTE. All rights reserved.