Email not displaying correctly? View it in your browser.

Call For Papers

2010 Global Development Finance Conference

Theme: Valuing Growth Trends in Development Finance
Venue: Spier Estate, Stellenbosch, Cape Town (South Africa)

Date: 24-26 November 2010

A scientific understanding of the theory and practice of development finance is central to our understanding of how global financial architecture emerges and evolves across developing, emerging and developed economies. The recent financial crisis has exposed major weaknesses in our understanding of how the elements that drive global finance operate. At the heart of this failure is the scientific world’s inability to develop appropriate scientific research in development finance theory and practice.

To help develop a credible and sustainable scientific platform for global development finance research, academics, researchers and development finance institutions around the world will be meeting in Cape Town on the 24-26 November 2010. The conference will be bringing together top development finance researchers around the world and will also be used to launch a new journal -Review of Development Finance- (RDF) which is published by Elsevier. The conference will focus (not exclusively) on the following:

Conference Sub-themes Include


  • Markets, Institutions and Transaction Cost: Cover areas including, Contracts, Agency and Transaction Cost; Asymmetric Information; Capital Markets and Credit Rationing; Risk Management and Domestic and International Capital Flows
  • Micro-credit : Covering Social Collateral and Inverted Banking; Credit Markets; Rural Credit Markets and the Design of Rural Credit Institutions;
  • Global Financial Architecture: Covering Capital Adequacy and Financial Soundness and  Issues surrounding financial liberalisation and Globalisation; International Financial Institutions;
  • Finance and Sustainable Development: Covering Sustainable Development; Issues surrounding Finance and
  • Finance, Economic Growth and Development:  Covering a broad area including issues surrounding Capital Flows and Economic Growth; Financial Institutions and Economic Growth; Emerging Financial Development and Economic Growth & Development
  • Law and finance.  Corporate governance, regulation; corporate finance and Corporate Social Responsibility.
  • External Aid and Development: Broadly covering the impact of external aid on economic growth.
  • Sovereign Debt Management: Covering issues surrounding Debt Management; External Debt and Economic Growth; Debt Contracts and Renegotiation; Debt Relieve Policies; Design of Incentives and Broader issues on Sovereign Debt Management.
  • Financial Evaluation and Optimality Measures: Innovative methods of cost benefit analysis and  Risk analysis and credit ratings
  • International Trade Finance


Scientific Committee: Board Members of Review of Development Finance


  • Ian Garret (University of Manchester, UK)
  • Helene Rey (London Business School, UK)
  • Lilian Ng (University of Wisconsin, Milwaukee, USA)
  • Frank Song (University of Hong Kong)
  • Yin-Wong Cheung (University of California, Santa Cruz (USA)
  • Graciela Chichilnisky (Columbia, USA)
  • Menzie D. Chinn (University of Wisconsin, USA)
  • Stijn Claessens (The IMF)
  • George Constantinides (University of Chicago, USA)
  • Ian Cooper (London Business School, UK)
  • Franklin Edwards (Columbia, USA)
  • Jack Glen (International Finance Corporation, USA)
  • Mariassunta Giannetti (Stockholm School of Economics, Sweden)
  • Robert Hodrick (Columbia, USA)
  • Kose John (New York University, USA)
  • Leonce  Ndikumana (African Development Bank)
  • Kalu Ojah (University of Witwatersrand, South Africa)
  • Kwaku Opong (University of Glasgow, UK)
  • Kate Phylaktis (The City University, London, UK)
  • Ghon Rhee (University of Hawaii, USA)
  • Martin Ravallion (The World Bank, USA)
  • Helmut Reisen (OECD Development Centre, France)
  • Geert Rouwenhorst (Yale, USA)
  • Yishay Yafeh (The Hebrew University, Israel)


  • George Akerlof (Berkeley, USA)
  • Vihang Errunza (McGill University, Canada)
  • Campbell R. Harvey (Duke University, USA)
  • Robert C. Merton (Harvard, USA)
  • Myron Scholes (Stanford, USA)
  • Lemma Senbet (University of Maryland, USA)
  • Reena Aggarwal (Georgetown University, USA)
  • Fred E.  Benth (University of Oslo, Norway)
  • Timothy Besley (London School of Economics, UK)
  • Gordon M. Bodnar (The John Hopkins University, USA)
  • Arnoud W.A. Boot (The Univ. of Amsterdam, Netherlands)
  • KC Chen (California State University, USA
  • Ravi Kanbur (Cornell, USA)
  • Robert Korajczyk (Northwestern, USA)
  • Sajal Lahiri (Southern Illinois University, USA)
  • Maurice Levi (University of British Colombia, Canada)
  • Ross Levine (Brown University, USA)
  • Richard Lyons (Berkeley, USA)
  • Roni Michaely (Cornell, USA)
  • Patrick Minford (University of Wales, UK
  • Frederic Mishkin (Columbia, USA)
  • Michael Moore (The Queen’s University of Belfast, UK)
  • Anthony Saunders (New York University, USA)
  • Lucio Sarno (Cass Business School, UK)
  • Robert A. Schwartz (CUNY, USA)
  • Eduardo Schwartz (UCLA, USA)
  • Mark Shackleton (University of Lancaster, UK)
  • Jeff Sheen (Macquarie University (Australia)
  • Bruno Solnik (The Hong Kong University of Science and Technology, Hong Kong)
  • Ingrid Werner (Ohio State University, USA)

Prizes will be awarded for best papers published in the Journal on specific research sub-themes.


June 30, 2010 - Submission of Abstracts
July 31, 2010 – Submission of full paper
July 31, 2010 - Early Registration Deadline

Email abstract to Dina Potgieter at


Early Discount (Fully Paid by July 31st , 2010):
Doctoral Students – US$300
Other Academics – US$450
Non-Academic Professionals – $US650

Standard Rate (Fully Paid after July 31st , 2010):
Doctoral Students – US$350
Other Academics – US$600
Non-Academic Professionals – $US750

Fees will include Wine Tasting and Dinner at Moyo on the 25th of November 2010.

To Register: Click here to download registration form


Administrative Queries
Mrs. Dina Potgieter
Tel: 21-914 6778
Fax: 21- 914 4438

Scientific Queries
Professor Nicholas Biekpe
Tel: 21-914 6778
Fax:: 21-914 4438