Email not displaying correctly? View it in your browser.


2012 Global Development Finance Conference:
In partnerships with Global Development Finance Centre
Academic & Development Finance Institutions

Theme: Innovative Finance for Sustainable Development

Venue: Crystal Towers, Century City, Cape Town, South Africa

Date: 20 - 22 November 2012


It is now clear that scientific understanding of the theory and practice of development finance is central to our understanding of how global financial architecture emerges and evolves across developing, emerging and developed economies. At the heart of the current global financial failures is the scientific world’s inability to develop appropriate scientific research in development finance theory and practice. To help develop a credible and sustainable scientific platform for global development finance research, academics, researchers and development finance institutions around the world will be meeting in Cape Town on the 20-22 November 2012. The conference will be bringing together top development finance researchers around the world and will also be used as a platform to promote Review of Development Finance- (RDF) which is aiming to be the most authoritative journal in development finance research and published by Elsevier.  The conference will focus (not exclusively) on the following:

Theme: Theoretical and Empirical Research in Development Finance

  • Markets, Institutions and Transaction Cost;
  • Micro-enterprise Finance;
  • Global Financial Architecture;
  • Finance and Sustainable
  • International Trade Finance
  • Responsible Investment
  • Finance, Economic Growth and Development;
  • Law and finance;
  • Environmental Finance
  • External Aid and Development;
  • Sovereign Debt Management;
  • Financial Evaluation and Optimality Measures
  • Country & Investment Risk Analysis;
  • Islamic Banking & Investment

Authors are encouraged to submit their papers to be considered for publication in the regular Issue of the Review of Development Finance published by Elsevier. The journal is published 4 times a year.

Scientific Committee: Board Members of Review of Development Finance

  • Ian Garret (University of Manchester, UK)
  • Helene Rey (London Business School, UK)
  • Lilian Ng (University of Wisconsin, Milwaukee, USA)
  • Frank Song (University of Hong Kong)
  • Yin-Wong Cheung (University of California, Santa Cruz USA)
  • Graciela Chichilnisky (Columbia, USA)
  • Menzie D. Chinn (University of Wisconsin, USA)
  • Stijn Claessens (The IMF)
  • George Constantinides (University of Chicago, USA)
  • Ian Cooper (London Business School, UK)
  • Franklin Edwards (Columbia, USA)
  • Jack Glen (International Finance Corporation, USA)
  • Mariassunta Giannetti (Stockholm School of Economics, Sweden)
  • Robert Hodrick (Columbia, USA)
  • Kose John (New York University, USA)
  • Leonce Ndikumana (African Development Bank)
  • Ingrid Werner (Ohio State University, USA)
  • Geert Rouwenhorst (Yale, USA)
  • Kalu Ojah (University of Witwatersrand, South Africa)
  • Kwaku Opong (University of Glasgow, UK)
  • Kate Phylaktis (The City University, London, UK)
  • Ghon Rhee (University of Hawaii, USA)
  • Martin Ravallion (The World Bank, USA)
  • Helmut Risen (OECD Development Centre, France)
  • George Akerlof (Berkeley, USA)
  • Vihang Errunza (McGill University, Canada)
  • Campbell R. Harvey (Duke University, USA)
  • Robert C. Merton (Harvard, USA)
  • Myron Scholes (Stanford, USA)
  • Lemma Senbet (University of Maryland, USA)
  • Reena Aggarwal (Georgetown University, USA)
  • Fred E. Benth (University of Oslo, Norway)
  • Timothy Besley (London School of Economics, UK)
  • Gordon M. Bodnar (The John Hopkins University, USA)
  • Yishay Yafeh (The Hebrew University, Israel)
  • Arnoud W.A. Boot (The University of Amsterdam, Netherlands)
  • KC Chen (California State University, USA)
  • Ravi Kanbur (Cornell, USA)
  • Robert Korajczyk (Northwestern, USA)
  • Sajal Lahiri (Southern Illinois University, USA)
  • Maurice Levi (University of British Colombia, Canada)
  • Ross Levine (Brown University, USA)
  • Roni Michaely (Cornell, USA)
  • Patrick Minford (University of Wales, UK)
  • Frederic Mishkin (Columbia, USA)
  • Michael Moore (The Queen's University of Belfast, UK)
  • Anthony Saunders (New York University, USA)
  • Lucio Sarno (Cass Business School, UK)
  • Robert A. Schwartz (CUNY, USA)
  • Eduardo Schwartz (UCLA, USA)
  • Mark Shackleton (University of Lancaster, UK)
  • Jeff Sheen (Macquarie University, Australia)
  • Bruno Solnik (The Hong Kong University of Science and Technology, Hong Kong)

Email abstract to Dina Potgieter at

Administrative Queries
Mrs. Dina Potgieter
Tel:  21-914 6778
Fax: 21- 914 4438

Scientific Queries
Professor Nicholas Biekpe
Tel: 21-914 6778
Fax:: 21-914 4438